A Little Bit Closer Now…

We got a couple things accomplished today.

First, we’ve confirmed that the big day is the 24th, and on that day we’ll officially own the boat.

I’ll fly up to Virginia the day before and maybe spend a few minutes on the boat, but then on Friday, I’ll be at the marina fairly early so that I can be on hand when the wire transfers start coming in.

Once the money has changed hands and I’ve spoken to our broker and confirmed that we have all the paperwork we need, I guess I’ll be handed a set of keys and be wished a good day, and at that point, the boat will be ours.

I’m meeting with a local captain who will make the short trip Norfolk with me to the boat yard where I’ve arranged for them to make the repairs it needs before we head south.

If we get there early enough in the day, they can haul and block it that day. Otherwise, it will sit at the dock until Saturday morning when they’ll pull it out of the water and get ready to pull the props and shafts to start replacing “stuff”.

I’ll fly back to Florida Saturday and start making arrangements for a different delivery captain to meet with me in a couple weeks when the work is done, and make the trip to Florida with me.

I also got some of the paperwork for the insurance started, and have my fingers crossed that we can get it all set by next Friday. Not sure what we’ll do if there’s a glitch there.

The coverage we’re getting will allow us to use the boat in charter, which is what we want. We plan to get acquainted with the boat in the first several months, and then start offering weekend or longer trips along the Florida coast, or maybe as far as south Georgia.

I’m going to spend some of the weekend starting to order charts and documents that we’ll need for the trip from Virginia to Florida, and making myself more familiar with the route.

The delivery captains I’ve spoken to have all seemed like they’d be inclined to run south in the Intracoastal Waterway to somewhere in the Carolinas just to make sure the boat runs OK, then we’d go out into the Atlantic for much of the rest of the way just to avoid no-wake zones and bridges, all of which add time to the trip.

We’ll split driving duties and probably break it up into 12 hour days, but if the weather is good and the boat is running well, we may try to push farther.

I don’t think the full reality has still hit me, but when I get up there and am aboard for the first time with my name on the Coast Guard documentation, I think that’s when it will sink in.

This is gonna be an adventure.

About TwoCaptains

The TwoCaptains are Jim and Janet, both US Coast Guard licensed boat captains home-ported in Daytona Beach. We recently sold our 1990 Ocean Yachts 56' CPMY "Magic Carpet", and now we're in the hunt for a replacement.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

