Please Cold Weather, Wait a Few More Weeks

The marina staff says they might be finished as early as Wednesday of this coming week. They’ll put Magic Carpet back in the water to align the engines to the prop shafts and check to see that everything that was replaced or repaired works as it should.

We received the official Certificate of Documentation from the Coast Guard this week, so that hurdle is behind us, and in the eyes of the Coasties, Magic Carpet is now ours.

I talked to the guy I’m hiring to help me bring her south, and we’ve started plotting routes and discussing what supplies and spares need to be on board. Food, spare filters, water pump impellers, the list is getting bigger every day.

I received the charts I ordered, and I now have a sufficient square footage of NOAA charts to wallpaper a good-sized apartment. If the electronics go out though, the paper charts will be very comforting.

Had a great time wandering through Lowes, Sears and the internet buying tools for the boat. Got a really neat toy…a digital infrared pyrometer. (Fancy name for an infrared thermometer) This little doohickey will let me check temperatures of exhaust components, bearings, turbochargers, and all sorts of things without having to get too close to moving machinery. Plus it’s just fun to point the laser at something and pull the trigger to get a reading.

I’m making lists of things to take to Virginia with me, and will soon need a list to keep track of my lists.

One of the things on my list that I’m not sure I’ll get is warm weather. I’m seeing on Facebook, that some of my friends in New York state are already seeing that white stuff. The boat has air conditioning, but no heaters. If the weather turns cold, it could be a loooong trip.

So, for the next few days I’ll be stacking things up for the trip to Virginia, and planning for the trip back south, with a wary eye on the Weather Channel.

About TwoCaptains

The TwoCaptains are Jim and Janet, both US Coast Guard licensed boat captains home-ported in Daytona Beach. We recently sold our 1990 Ocean Yachts 56' CPMY "Magic Carpet", and now we're in the hunt for a replacement.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

