Finally!

HOLY CRAP…IT’S COLD !!!

My plea for the warm weather to hang around a bit longer was obviously mislaid somewhere between me and whoever is in charge of such things.

On the drive up here over the past two days, I noticed a meteorological phenomenon the scientific name of which I am uncertain, but which I will describe as “the wind was blowin like stink”.

I guess it was blowing that hard in order to get all the cold air out of Canada and try to compress it into the mid-Atlantic states.

I sit here in the stateroom of the boat with a sleeping bag and blanket wrapped around me, a space heater doing its level best to heat the space, and my nose feeling as though it might shatter if I touch it. OK, maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but it is, nonetheless, COLD.

I did determine that the A/C units are reverse-cycle units, so they should provide a level of heating, but we are both too tired tonight to try to figure out the controls.

“We” being Steve, the gentleman I’ve hired to help me as a delivery captain, and me. We got all our gear on board, changed out the anchor (which would have been a strong contender on America’s Funniest Videos), went to the parts store for more filters and gallons (not quarts…gallons) of oil, and to the grocery for bread, lunchmeat, various other staples we’ll need for sustenance over the next few days, and of course, the most important staple item of all, Corona Extra.

I came within inches of going into the water when the dock cart full of heavy stuff I was taking down a steep ramp got the best of me. Fortunately, the water was bounded on the far side of the finger pier, about three feet away, by a very substantial concrete bulkhead. Funny how things go through your mind so quickly, but as I realized that gravity was about to get the best of me, and soon thereafter realized that I was being propelled by the runaway cart toward a very unpleasant dunking, it just as quickly dawned on me that if I just let it push me, and didn’t lose my footing on the dock, I’d fall backward over the three foot gap and land against the bulkhead.

So…there I stood, feet firmly planted on the dock, body leaning at a very odd angle over three feet of 40 foot deep and very chilly water, with a heavily loaded dock cart trying to move the feet part of me into that three foot gap.

Luckily, Steve was not far away, and quickly discerned that I was doing something quite odd, and came to investigate. He got the cart under control, gave me a hand and pulled the leaning-over-ther-water part of me back to where my feet were, and we went on our way.

Hopefully, that’s not a harbinger of things to come.

Tomorrow we plan to leave no later than 7:30 in order to make it through several bridges and the Great Bridge Lock, and then we’ll mosey on down the ICW to Coinjock, NC where we’ll spend the night. The first day will only be about 50 miles, but it has a lot of bridges to contend with, and it will give us a chance to get everything stowed, and see how the boat runs.

It’s way past late-thirty now, and after two days of driving and running around all day today, I’m pooped. Gonna hit the sack and hope the “extra” hour tonight helps.

About TwoCaptains

The TwoCaptains are Jim and Janet, both US Coast Guard licensed boat captains home-ported in Daytona Beach. We recently sold our 1990 Ocean Yachts 56' CPMY "Magic Carpet", and now we're in the hunt for a replacement.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

