Reality Check

Well, I haven’t even seen the old girl (I’m referring to the boat) since we docked on the 14th, but after we fill ourselves up with poultry tomorrow, and recover on Friday, I’ve arranged to meet a local Detroit Diesel mechanic on Saturday to see if we can start figuring out where my coolant is going.

I’ve been scouring the internet and have determined that based on the opinions of the multitudes of Google Engineers, the cause will be found to be anything from a perforated tube in the heat exchanger to alien life forms from a parallel universe using the antifreeze to power their proton ship for the return home.

I’m leaning toward the former.

Janet will spend the day pulling linens off the beds, taking old drawer liners out, and general nest building. We’ll both start up on the flybridge and work our way down, making what I’m sure will be a very extensive list of “gotta do’s” and “oughta do’s” to be addressed in the coming weeks and months.

The boat has a nice Avon RIB for a dinghy, but we have no idea if the little outboard motor even runs. If I get it down into the water and it won’t crank, I’ll try to figure a way to get it home where I can work on it at my leisure. I think the marina would take a dim view of me disassembling the motor on the dock.

The engine synchronizer issue looks like it might actually be pretty straightforward to correct. I’ve been looking at the owner’s manual, and I spoke by phone to the folks who make the unit, and it seems likely that I just have a broken cable. If that’s the case, I’ll replace the cable for the starboard engine, the one that we think is broken, and I’ll also replace the one for the port engine, even though it isn’t broken (yet) because I’m a firm believer in Murphy’s Law.

There are pumps to pull and clean, valves to label, hose clamps to replace and a myriad of other tasks to accomplish, some of which need to happen yesterday, and some that can wait.

I feel like a dog that catches the car…OK, now what do I do?

About TwoCaptains

The TwoCaptains are Jim and Janet, both US Coast Guard licensed boat captains home-ported in Daytona Beach. We recently sold our 1990 Ocean Yachts 56' CPMY "Magic Carpet", and now we're in the hunt for a replacement.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

