Ummm, I Don’t Think So

I played hooky Friday and after letting the cats have an extended romp in the back yard, I packed up the old F250 and headed for Daytona Beach.

I planned to work on the boat all day and all day Saturday. Janet was coming over in the afternoon to do some of the things she wanted to do.

Friday went well, and I got one of the two new fluorescent fixtures installed in the engine room. I decided to wait until my son Nick came over on Saturday to do the other one, because it was going to require a bit more of a contortionist than I thought I could be. He’s still young and limber, so I’ll let him do it.

When I got to the boat Friday, there was a guy polishing the boat next to ours, and I asked if he’d be willing to polish the transom of ours to remove the shadow left from the previous name. I removed the old lettering a couple weeks ago, but you could still see the outline of the letters and I wanted that gone before we put the new name on. He said he would, and within an hour or so, I had a nice shiny rear end. That is, the boat did.

Janet and I watched a DVD movie Friday night and called it a night fairly early.

Saturday morning when we got up, the owner of the boat next to ours was putting a couple dozen flags up on a line running from the bow, up over his radar arch and down to the stern. I’d noticed that one of the other owners had done that to his boat Friday, so I was curious what this was all about.

The guy next door said that several boat owners in this marina were members of the Halifax River Yacht Club which is right next door, but which has limited dock space. The Yacht Club was having a ceremony Saturday to mark the annual “changing of the guard” or some such.

It’s when they install new officers, and they have a boat parade, a dinner, and all sorts of stuff. It gives them an excuse to fly a bunch of nautical flags I guess.

The guy mentioned that the initiation fee for membership in the Yacht Club was currently discounted to “only” $2000.

Now neither Janet nor I had ever really thought about being members of a yacht club, but they all looked like they were having fun getting their boats all gussied up, so we started thinking about it.

Nick and I continued doing things to the boat, and pretty soon lunchtime rolled around. Janet volunteered to run to the Italian place a few blocks away to get lunch and bring it back to the boat.

That route took her right past the front gate of the aforementioned Halifax River Yacht Club.

When she got back, she described to us the scene that unfolded before her wondering eyes as she walked past.

OK, now picture this…dozens of people, male people, female people, child people, all sorts of people, all dressed in white pants or skirts, all in blue blazers, and all wearing a cutesy little Captain’s hat complete with gold embroidery on the brim.

Looked sort of like a boating cult. She said some of the kids were carrying stuffed animals, and even the stuffed animals were dressed in white with little stuffed-animal-sized blue blazers.

I guess all the commodores and commodettes wear this getup to show the rest of the world that they aren’t just regular people…they’re Yacht Club members.

Do I want to join???

Ummm, I don’t think so.

About TwoCaptains

The TwoCaptains are Jim and Janet, both US Coast Guard licensed boat captains home-ported in Daytona Beach. We recently sold our 1990 Ocean Yachts 56' CPMY "Magic Carpet", and now we're in the hunt for a replacement.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

