Let’s Catch Up

Wow…where do I start?

Back in early November, I was clicking right along on a few of the many remaining  projects, when I had to put all my tools away and clean up the boat for the grand opening of our new boat-related business. We will be offering half and full-day cruises in the Daytona Beach area, and we invited our friends, family and potential guests to come aboard and take a look at the boat, enjoy some yummy hors d’oeuvres, and learn more about the trip itineraries.

The grand opening went well, and we were happy with our website Real Florida Adventures, and our Facebook page (Real Florida Adventures) and had actually booked our first reservation for a pre-Christmas cruise.

I was looking forward to Thanksgiving at our house. Two of my sons live elsewhere in Florida and they were planning to come to our place to celebrate the holiday with us and I was feeling like things were chugging right along.

And then it happened.

On the evening of November 24 I started feeling poorly, and by 1:00 in the morning on the 25th, Janet was taking me to the local emergency room with severe abdominal pain. Tests revealed a serious abdominal infection, and I spent the next two weeks in two different hospitals where I underwent major surgery. The doctor said my insides were “a mess”. I think that’s some sort of medical lingo.

Needless to say, upon my release, I was in no condition to go boating. I will say though, that during that dark time, my wife, my sons, and my friends provided comfort beyond measure. I owe them all so much.

Just a few days after I got out of the hospital, my youngest son and his wife had a son of their own. Logan Wesley William Shira came into this world on December 19, and he is the cutest little guy I think I’ve ever seen.

We’ve already had him on the boat with us, and although Grandpa’s hat was a trifle large on him, he seemed to enjoy himself.

DSC_0250

We’ve had two groups of guests on board, on two different charters, and everyone had a blast. The weather was great, the food was great, and the guests were great. What more could we ask for!

DSC_0241

DSC_0247

So…although my unplanned medical issues rearranged our boating plans for a while, I’m back to the point where I can comfortably run the boat again, and we are looking forward to entertaining more guests and family during the summer. I’ll need some follow-up surgery in a month or so, but I’m told the recuperation period should be quicker this time, without the underlying infection issues.

We’ve outfitted Logan with a hat and some shades that fit him a bit better, and he’s ready for another boat ride.
DSC_0251

I still have (and probably always will have) a list of projects to do on the boat, and I’ll post some of the details as I get to them. For those of you who are really interested in boat projects, I invite you to check out this fellow’s blog: Chris Craft Roamer 46 Refit

He’s rebuilding an aluminum-hull Chris Craft, and his attention to detail is mind-boggling.

Thanks to everyone who has been reading our blog, and I hope you’ll continue to follow us as our story unfolds.

 

 

About TwoCaptains

The TwoCaptains are Jim and Janet, both US Coast Guard licensed boat captains home-ported in Daytona Beach. We recently sold our 1990 Ocean Yachts 56' CPMY "Magic Carpet", and now we're in the hunt for a replacement.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Catch Up

  1. I’m very pleased to uncover this website. I
    want to to thank you for your time for this fantastic
    read!! I definitely liked every part of it and i also have you book-marked to see new information in your website.

Leave a Reply

